Workshops

NIH Workshop on Identifiers and Disambiguation in Scholarly Work

Date:

October 25th & 26th, 2006 (please see the agenda for details)


Meeting Place:

New York Hall of Science, NYC
Lower Level Boardroom
http://www.nyscience.org
5 minutes from La Guardia airport.

Photos:

group photo
Check out more photos from the workshop

Organizers:

Katy Börner

Victor H. Yngve Professor of Information Science, School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University, Bloomington;
Director, Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science Center; Curator, Places & Spaces: Mapping Science exhibit
katy@indiana.edu
PR^2 | PPT

Julie Smith

Co-curator of Places & Spaces.
Indiana University
jsmarie@gmail.com
PR^2

Stephen Uzzo

Director of Technology, New York Hall of Science. Collaborated on the design of Connections - The Nature of Networks. suzzo@nyscience.org

Workshop Goals & Agenda:

This workshop aims to identify existing and to master-mind novel maps for an exhibit on "Science (Weather) Forecasts" as part of the 3rd iteration of the Mapping Science exhibit. The envisioned maps help to communicate the structure and evolution of mankind's scholarly knowledge by showing for example

- The evolution of scientific communities/fields – birth, growth, maturation, decline.
- Interactions among fields. Who 'eats' who's papers?
- Trends, patterns, or emergent research frontiers, feedback loops, etc.
- Interplay of competition and collaboration.
- Diffusion of people, ideas, skills, etc. in geospatial space and topic space.
- Effects of different funding models, e.g., few large vs. many small grants.

The maps are rendered based on a sophisticated analysis and modeling of large-scale scholarly datasets comprising papers, patents, or grants. For background information please see list of publications.

Please fill out the Brief Bio and PR^2: Problems & Pitches and submit to Katy Borner <katy@indiana.edu> and Elisha Hardy <efhardy@indiana.edu> by Thursday October 19th, 2006.

Date
October 25th & 26th, 2006 (please see the agenda for details)

Schedule:

Wednesday, October 25th, 2006

6:00pm Dinner at Pisticci. View Menu and please send food preferences to Veronica Dougherty <veronicadougherty@hotmail.com
See Directions
8:30pm Cocktail Party at Brad Paley's Place. Digital Image Design Incorporated, 170 Claremont Suite 6, New York, NY 10027. Bring a Print or a Bottle

Thursday, October 26th, 2006

6:00pm Light Breakfast
9:00am Introduction by Participants (5 min per person/organization=24 slots)
10:30am Break
11:00am Mapping Science & Science Forecasts: Challenges and Opportunities by Katy Börner
12:30pm Joint Lunch
1:30pm Breakout Sessions on Reference Systems, Metaphors, Data Overlays, Design Languages, etc.
2:30pm

Breakout Session Reports

3:30pm

Break

4:00pm

Discussion of Next Steps

5:30pm

Adjourn

Participants Attending:

Bruce Herr

Bruce Herr

Research Staff, Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science Center, School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University
bherr@indiana.edu
PR^2

Eric Giannella

Eric Giannella

Research Associate in the Jenkins Collaboratory
Duke Univeristy
(attends only on 10/26)
eric.giannella@duke.edu

Arno Klein

Arno Klein

Parsons Institute for Information Mapping (PIIM)
arno@binarybottle.com
PR^2 | PPT

Robert Pietrusko

Robert Pietrusko

Parsons Institute for Information Mapping (PIIM)
pietrusr@newschool.edu

Jamie Smith

Jamie Smith

Researcher in Mathematics and Computation
Parsons Institute for Information Mapping (PIIM)
jamie.a.smith@gmail.com

Anthony Townsend

Anthony Townsend

Research Director
Institute for the Future
atownsend@iftf.org
PR^2

Richard Klavans

Richard Klavans

Map of Science
Science analyst and science map maker.
Designer of tools for research planning.
rklavans@mapofscience.com
PPT

Brad Paley

Brad Paley

Digital Image Design Incorporated, Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, and Director of Information Esthetics
Designer of CodeProfiles, TextArc, and TraceEncounters.
brad@didi.com

Peter Hook

Peter Hook

Ph.D. Student at SLIS, Indiana University. Works on educational knowledge domain visualizations.
pahook@indiana.edu
PR^2 | PPT

David Bornstein

David Bornstein

Author of "How to Change the World"
(attends only on 10/25)
dnbornstein@gmail.com

Skye Bender-Demoll

Skye Bender-Demoll

SoNIA developer,
researcher / consultant on dynamic network visualization
skyebend@skyeome.net
Movies shown at workshop:
Movie 1, Movie 2, Movie 3
PR^2 | PPT

Daniel Zeller

Daniel Zeller

Pierogi Gallery
Brooklyn, NY
danzel@inch.com
PR^2

Bonny Harbinger

Bonny Harbinger

Ph.D., J.D.
Deputy Director
Office of Technology Transfer
National Institutes of Health
harbinger@nih.gov
PR^2

Israel I. Lederhendler

Israel I. Lederhendler

Ph.D.
Director, Division of Information Services
Office of Extramural Research, OD
National Institutes of Health
lederhei@od.nih.gov
BIO

Mike Pollard

Mike Pollard

Vice President, Discovery Logic.
mikep@DiscoveryLogic.com

Eric Siegel

Eric Siegel

Executive Vice President, Programs & Planning
New York Hall of Science

Interested But Cannot Attend:

Interested (not attending)
Chaomei Chen <Chaomei.Chen@cis.drexel.edu>
Luc Anselin <anselin@uiuc.edu>
Mark Gahegan <mng1@psu.edu>
Alex Soojung-Kim Pang <apang@iftf.org>
Eric Moeller <moeller@scireview.de>
Barend Mons <bmons@knewco.com>
Walter Tobler <tobler@geog.ucsb.edu>
Timothy Lenoir <lenoir@duke.edu>
Andre Skupin <askupin@uno.edu>
Ingo Gunther <i-gun@refegee.net>
Alan McEachren <maceachren@psu.edu>
Ji Lee <jilee@pleaseenjoy>
Valdis Krebs <valdis@orgnet.com>
Daniel A MaFarland <macfarland@standford.edu>
Ramana Rao <rao@inxight.com>
Jim Giles <J.Giles@nature.com>
Boyack, Kevin W <kboyack@sandia.gov>
John T. Bruer <bruer@jsmf.org>
Tatham, Thomas (NIH/CSR) <tathamt@csr.nih.gov>
Eduardo Kac <ekac@saic.edu>
Christensen, Paola <Peter_Christensen@moma.org>
Peter Christensen <Peter_Christensen@moma.org>
Henry Small <henry.small@thomson.com>
Caroline S. Wagner <caroline.wagner@sri.com>
Jim Ketchum
Alan J. Friedman, Chief Scientist New York Hall of Science, afreidman@nyscience.org
Martin Weiss, Vice President, Science New York Hall of Science, mweiss@nyscience.org

Travel/Housing:

The Ramada Plaza Hotel on 114th Street (Access to #7 Subway Line and free shuttle to La Guardia) is $119.00 per night. Mapping Science is a grass roots effort. Currently, there is no funding available for travel support. If you would like to attend but need support, please contact Katy at katy@indiana.edu and we will try to find a way.

Directions:

Directions to the University of Florida from all surrounding airport hubs are available online.

Publications:

Börner, Katy, Chen, Chaomei, and Boyack, Kevin. (2003). Visualizing Knowledge Domains. In Blaise Cronin (Ed.), Annual Review of Information Science & Technology, Volume 37, Medford, NJ: Information Today, Inc./American Society for Information Science and Technology, chapter 5, pp. 179-255.

Shiffrin, Richard M. and Börner, Katy (Ed.). (2004). Mapping Knowledge Domains. Proceedings of the National Academy of Sciences of the United States of America, 101(Suppl_1).

Chen, Chaomei and Hicks, Diana. (2004). Tracing Knowledge Diffusion. Scientometrics. 59(2), 199-211.

Boyack, Kevin W., Klavans, R. and Börner, Katy. (2005). Mapping the Backbone of Science. Scientometrics. 64(3), 351-374.

Börner, Katy, Penumarthy, Shashikant, Meiss, Mark and Ke, Weimao. (2006). Mapping the Diffusion of Scholarly Knowledge Among Major U.S. Research Institutions. Scientometrics. 68(3), pp. 415-426.

Small, Henry. (2006). Tracking and Predicting Growth Areas in Science, Scientometrics. 68(3), 595-610.

Acknowledgments:

This effort is supported by the National Institutes of Health under Grant No. 1U24RR029822-01. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Institutes of Health.

Thank you to our generous sponsors: