Workshops

Mapping Science

Date:

April 4th, 2006


Meeting Place:

The Study, New York Academy of Sciences
2 East 63 Street (between Madison and 5th Avenues)
New York, NY 10021

Photos:

Click for more photos from the workshop and the unofficial photos from the exhibit opening.

Organizers:

Katy Börner

Associate Professor of Information Science, SLIS, Indiana University. Co-editor of Visual Interfaces to Digital Libraries and PNAS special issue on Mapping Knowledge Domains. Project director of the Information Visualization Cyberinfrastructure and Network Workbench. Co-curator of Places & Spaces.
<katy@indiana.edu>
PR^2

Deborah MacPherson

Accuracy&Aesthetics, Washington, DC.
Project director for Accuracy & Aesthetics that aims to visualize context driven topologies. Co-curator of Places & Spaces.
<debmacp@gmail.com>

PR^2

Workshop Goals & Agenda:

Meeting Goals
This meeting aims to (I) pool existing science mapping expertise, tools, and resources, (II) to identify most promising applications for advanced science mapping and knowledge management approaches, and (II) to introduce potential clients to each other and to science mapping experts.

This becomes particulalry relevant given that NSF proposes to fund a new research area called "science metrics" with initially $6.8 million. "The goal is to develop the data, tools and knowledge needed to establish an evidence-based "science of science policy." NSF intends to pursue this research in close cooperation with other agencies." see Request for National Science Foundation Fiscal Year 2007 Is $6.02 Billion.
See also the 2005 AAAS S&T Policy Forum Keynote Address by John Marburger, Director, Office of Science and Technology Policy, Executive Office of the President in which he argues for a "science of science policy".

Please provide fill out the Brief Bio and PR^2: Problems & Pitches and submit to katy@indiana.edu by Thursday March 30th, 2006.

Attend Exhibit Opening Reception but NOT the Workshop

Ludmila Pollock <pollock@cshl.edu>
Susan Gamble & Michael Wenyon <wengam@wengam.com>


Tentative Agenda

Given the diversity of backgrounds of attendees and the goals of this workshop, the agenda was designed to quickly introduce each other, to demo best tools and resources, to gather information on clients needs, to brainstorm in working groups, and to conclude with a discussion of next steps.

Schedule:

Monday, April 3, 2006
Venue: Haley Hall, Science, Industry and Business Library of The New York Public Library
188 Madison Avenue (at 34th Street)
New York, NY 10016

6:00-7:30pm Opening reception of the 'Places & Spaces: Mapping Science' exhibit
Joint Dinner at the Artisanal Fromagerie and Bistro
2 Park Ave. btw. 32nd & 33rd Street
212-725-8585

Tuesday, April 4, 2006
Venue: The Study, New York Academy of Sciences
2 East 63 Street (between Madison and 5th Avenues)
New York, NY 10021

8:30am Light Breakfast
9:00am Welcome by Dr. Rashid Shaikh, Director of Programs, New York Academy of Sciences
9:15am Introduction of Attendees
Please prepare a 10 min overview of your work
10:30am Break
11:00am Discussion of Client Needs
1:00pm Joint Lunch (Catering by Bread Factory Cafe)
2:00pm Working Groups
4:00pm Break
4:30-5:30pm Discussion of Next Steps

Participants Attending:

Gary Berg-Cross

James A. Bartek

Seyet LLC, Purdue Research Park company creates advanced visualization solutions for the science community.
<bartek@seyet.com>

PR^2
Kevin Boyack

Kevin Boyack

Sandia National Laboratories
Science analyst and science map maker. Power user of Sandia's VxInsight® knowledge visualization tool. <kboyack@sandia.gov>

PR^2

Riccardo Brancaleon

Riccardo Brancaleon

Founder of Promoscience, a SISSA (International School for Advanced Studies) spin-off of Trieste/Italy, specializing in planning and deploying web tools for Science Communication.
<brancaleon@promoscience.com>

PR^2
no image

Ron Day

Visiting Assistant Professor of Library and Information Science, SLIS, Indiana University Expert in the history, culture and political economy of information, documentation, communication, knowledge, and digital media.
<roday@indiana.edu>

PR^2

Eric Giannella

Eric Giannella

Duke University
<eric.giannella@duke.edu>

PR^2

Ingo Gunther

Ingo Günther

NYC Artist & Designer of Worldprocessor.
<i-gun@refugee.net>

Richard Klavans

Richard Klavans

Map of Science
Science analyst and science map maker. Designer of tools for research planning.
<rklavans@mapofscience.com>

PR^2

Nigam Shah

Lokman I. Meho

Assistant Professor of Library and Information Science, SLIS, Indiana University. Researches citation analysis, digital libraries, and information access.
<meho@indiana.edu>

Barend Mons

Barend Mons

Associate Professor in Biosemantics, Erasmus Medical Center and Leiden University Medical Center, the Netherlands. <bmons@knewco.com>
Slides

Jeff Sutherland

W. Bradford Paley

Digital Image Design Incorporated, Adjunct Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science, Columbia University, and Director of Information Esthetics
Designer of CodeProfiles, TextArc, and TraceEncounters.
<brad@didi.com >

Fabio Pammolli

Fabio Pammolli

Full Professor of Economics and Management at University of Florence Director IMT Lucca Institute for Advanced Studies.
<pammolli@cln.it>
PR^2

Massimo Riccaboni

Massimo Riccaboni

Associate Professor at the University of Florence, Italy.
<riccaboni@atalab.com>
PR^2

Andre Skupin

Andre Skupin

San Diego State University. Cartographer and science map maker.
<skupin@mail.sdsu.edu>

PR^2 | Slides

Henry Small

Henry Small

Chief Scientist at Thomson Scientific and Scientometrics pioneer. Created first map of all of science. President of the International Society for Scientometrics and Informetrics.
<henry.small@thomson.com>
PR^2

Caroline Wagner

Caroline Wagner

George Washington University & S&T Policy Unit, SRI International.
<cswagner@gwu.edu>
PR^2 | Slides

John Burgoon

John Burgoon

SLIS Master Student, Indiana University
<jburgoon@indiana.edu>
PR^2

Bruce Herr

Bruce Herr

Programmer, Indiana University
<bherr@indiana.edu>
PR^2

Todd Holloway

Todd Holloway

CS Ph.D. student, Indiana University
<tohollow@cs.indiana.edu>
PR^2

Funding Agencies/Clients

Timothy Hays

Timothy Hays

Project Director, Knowledge Management for Disease Coding; Interim Director, Division of Information Services/ORIS, Office of Extramural Research (OER); Interim Chief, Portfolio Analysis and Scientific Opportunities Branch/DRDA, Office of Portfolio Analysis and Strategic Initiatives (OPASI), Office of the Director/NIH
<thays@od.nih.gov>
PR^2 | PPT

Janic M. Hicks

Janice M. Hicks

Executive Officer, Division of Chemistry, NSF
<jhicks@nsf.gov>
PR^2 | PPT

Matt Probus

Matt Probus

Chief Architect, Discovery Logic Inc.
<mattp@discoverylogic.com>
PR^2

Kelly Streepy

Kelly Streepy

Deputy Director, Indiana 21st Century Research & Technology Fund
<KStreepy@21fund.org>

Stephen Uzzo

Stephen Uzzo

Director of Technology, New York Hall of Science. Collaborated on the design of Connections - The Nature of Networks.
<suzzo@nyscience.org>

Dan Robertson

Maria Zemankova

Program Director, Information & Knowledge Management, Division of Information and Intelligent Systems, NSF <mzemanko@nsf.gov>
PR^2 | PPT

Mark Schreiber

Eric Wernert

Associate Director, Research & Academic Computing, UITS, Indiana University.
<erwernert@indiana.edu>

Background Information

Motivation
Katy's talk on Mapping the Structure and Evolution of Science and the Places & Spaces exhibit installed by Debbie at NIH's Knowledge Management Symposium at the Symposium inspired diverse requests for science mapping work. We decided to organize a second 'invitation only/no travel support available' workshop that brings together leading science map makers and potential clients interested in science maps and knowledge management tools.

Travel/Housing:

Please contact Samantha Hale (ude.anaidni@elahjs) for travel arrangement.

Directions:

See the contact page for the Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science Center, http://cns.iu.edu/contact.html or contact Samantha Hale (ude.anaidni@elahjs.)

Acknowledgements:

We would like to thank the New York Academy of Sciences for hosting the meeting and the Cyberinfrastructure for Network Science Center at Indiana University for sponsoring the breakfast and lunch.

Thank you to our generous sponsors: